Executive Team

Kathryn Mahoney, CAWA

Alison Reder, CAWA
Vice President of Animal Welfare
& Operations

Robin Rowland
Vice President of Donor Relations
& Communications

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Rusty Smith, Chair

Susan Wally, Vice-Chair

Sandy Johnson, Secretary

Andy Ellebrecht, Treasurer

Marilyn Melcher,  Honorary Board Member


Jill Embry

Sydney Goodman

Jennifer Janis


John Leifer

Karen Padgett

Jill Turner

Anthony West

Nancy Yeamans

David Yost

Advisory Council

Shannon Barks

Peter Brown

Bill Burton

Kristopher Dabner

Laurie Franklin

John Goodman

Ellen Hanson

Melanie Hepperly

Martha Immenschuh

Peggy Kroesch

Jan Kyle

Joyce Letts








Peggy Lyons

Darlene McCluskey

Barbara Mueth

Susan Palmer

Ashlee Parker-Osborne

Betty Scott

Bill Scott

Susan Susz

Susan Sight

Chris Trainer

Laura Bynum Tucker

Craig Wallace

Gary Wolf

Jeanna Wolfe

Wayside Waifs’ Commitment to DEI

Wayside Waifs is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) practices that support a diverse, equitable, and inclusive organizational culture. Wayside understands the importance of having a culture where everyone is seen and heard. We know that focusing on DEI practices is not only the right thing to do, it will also positively contribute to the shelter’s mission.

Wayside Waifs values and prioritizes:

· Having an ongoing commitment of culture to DEI, including efforts to address current and historical inequities;

· Encouraging staff to practice inclusive leadership;

· Collaborative learning on equity, racism, and other forms of bias.

ADOPTION HOURS: Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Friday: 11am-7pm
Saturday - Sunday: 10am-5pm

3901 Martha Truman Road, Kansas City, MO 64137